Fireworks in Astoria Park

Finally for once, I found out about the Fireworks ahead of time and was able to plan a wonderful evening and what a beautiful evening it turned out to be.. The weather was PERFECT!!

 

Found a spot on the lawn close to the skate park, pulled out our blankets and just chilled until the Fireworks began. The turnout was amazing.. People had chairs, blankets, picnic baskets, coolers but more importantly lots of cameras :-D.

The kids got glow sticks and saber swords. They ran around happily. Dogs were on leashes (although I have to say, maybe taking your dog to fireworks display is not the best idea).

Then it began!!!    Oh what a beautiful sight. No matter how old I get, I still can go ooh and aaah.. It’s pretty funny.. The only difference is, now I look through my lens for about 65% of the time. O_o  After having, what seemed like two pitchers of German Beer at Wunderbar, I’d have to say it was a challenge.  NO TRIPOD!! and I shot in manual, didn’t lock focus and all the other stuff you ought to do when photographing fireworks.. Needless to say, it didn’t matter.. At the end of the night, I captured a memory that time will never erase.. AN EVENING WITH FAMILY AND FRIENDS!!

Wishing everyone a safe and enjoyable weekend. Keep an eye on your kids at the pool, beach, firework display etc..

Hugs

Pix

