Dressmaker, Dressmaker, make me a dress

My Annual New York City summer adventures usually begins with a my kid registering for classes at F.I.T. (Fashion Institute of Technology). She gives up 3 full weeks of her summer to attend classes here. Absolutely loves it. This is where she’d like to attend college – dreaming about it her whole life.

I chose this photo as my POTD because dressmaking is an art (or used to be) that intrigued me as a kid and I was always on the outside looking in. I began sewing in my early teens, even learnt the art of pattern making. My designs left alot to be desired but I was a solid seamstress. So happy to know my kid loves it also.

F.I.T runs a wonderful HS and MS programs. I highly recommend this as an activity for those serious teenagers who are willing to give up 3 weeks of their summer. Kids come from all over the world. It sometimes incorporates a family vacation to New York. It really is amazing..

Seamstress: Song written and sung by Shari Elf

Wishing everyone a fabulous day

Pix

