Day 25/365 – National Opposite Day

Oh dear God!! Not sure if I can continue with these themes.. Stumbling across it being “Opposite Day” made me nauseous. I kept playing around with images in my mind, as to what would convey opposite.. To a photographer – Light is meaningful only in relation to darkness

1.  situated, placed, or lying face to face with something else or each other, or in corresponding positions with relation to an intervening line.

2.  contrary or radically different in some respect common to both, as in qualities, direction, result, or significance

It just didn’t make sense. ONE LITTLE WORD can be so annoying. So I enlisted my daughter’s help and we had such a fun afternoon over debates that flowed into dinner with the hubby.. I decided to shoot with #2 definition in mind.

~ The most exciting attractions are between two opposites that never meet.  Andy Warhol ~

Fire and Water –  This one was fun to shoot, until I realised my kid was enjoying it a bit too much O_o…

So don’t celebrate by doing the opposite of what you mean to do and saying the opposite of what you mean to say. Then again, if you don’t want to do something you shouldn’t do just because it’s the opposite of what you should do, then consider what you don’t want to do the thing that you do want to do, then you won’t do what you don’t want to do and you will do what you do want to do and everything should work out fine.

Confusing huh?? Well this was basically our conversation, as to what my main photo should be. I didn’t want to do faces next to each other nor the opposite ends of a pencil.. Two colors of something – only meant two different colors NOT opposite (atleast that was the kid’s argument).. So I was stuck…

Then I got it!! My daughter is a math wiz and a brilliant writer (in most cases, it’s one or the other). She’s a smooth dancer and an agressive figure skater.. She can dress couture Betsey and grunge skateboarder..

She is her own OPPOSITE!!

Imagine doing that in 6″ heels, well she makes it look all to simple. So at the end of the day, I got to spend some quality time with my daughter, had some good laughs and got a photo I liked.. Not Bad at all..

I found this quote, not sure of writer:  “The opposite of love is apathy, and hate is really the same as love. If you’re so consumed by hatred for someone, you might as well be loving them, because you’re thinking about them for the same amount of time.”

Well that’s my take on “Opposite Day”.. Kinda lame if you ask me but I gave myself this task and I shall see it through..

Have a great day

HUGS
Pix

 

