Day 33/365 – Spice vs Spicy

Often I hear people say things like “I don’t like Indian Food because it’s too spicy”.. I usually in turn ask do you mean “spicy = flavor” or “spicy = pepper”….  People don’t realise that there is a difference..

#1. Spicy – Having the flavor, aroma, or quality of spice

#2. Spicy – piquant or zesty

I eat very spicy!!! Both for flavor and for zest..

Many spices are used for other purposes, such as medicine, religious rituals, cosmetics, perfumery, or for eating as vegetables. For example, turmeric is also used as a preservative; liquorice as a medicine; garlic as a vegetable.

We eat habanero, jalapeno, chili, name it, we’ve tried it.. My hubby loves spicy also.. I think he can handle spicier than I can.. and that’s alot..  We also buy hot sauce and spices when we travel..

One of my favorite Trinidadian Foods to eat is call “DOUBLES”..

Wikipedia: ~~ “Doubles” is a common street food in Trinidad and Tobago. It is a sandwich made with two flat fried “breads”, called “bara” filled with curried chick peas or garbanzo beans, commonly called channa (from Urdu/Hindi/Bhojpuri “chanaa”). Topped with a variety of spicy chutneys (mango, cucumber, coconut, tamarind) and extra pepper sauce (ranging from a dash “slight” to much more), this delicacy is undoubtedly the most popular fast food in Trinidad and Tobago. It is usually eaten for breakfast, and sometimes lunch, but can be a late night snack as well. ~~

I plan to eat lots of it when I go home for Carnival.. Well truth be told, I’ll probably have only two; one each mornign i’m there.. haha.. extra spicy.

One of my favorite movies is The Mistress of Spices. If you have time, you should watch it..

Now I’m hungry.. hehe

Pix

