Day 44/365 – I hope you Dance

I hope you never lose your sense of wonder
You get your fill to eat but always keep that hunger
May you never take one single breath for granted
God forbid love ever leave you empty handed
I hope you still feel small when you stand beside the ocean
Whenever one door closes I hope one more opens
Promise me that you’ll give faith a fighting chance
And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance

I hope you dance

My daughter’s been dancing since she was 4 years old. She still loves it. If she can dance every day of the week, she would.  The parents (moms mostly) got to sit in on their dance class yesterday.  What can I say, I’m a proud mamma. Yes, yes, I know, I’m her mom, I’m supposed to think she’s the best.. BUT she truly is a great dancer. I know this because the teacher pulled me aside and said so..

I’m not one to push – never got her into modelling but ever you guys saw a pic of her you’d wonder why. It wasn’t what “I” wanted for her. I don’t push her with her dancing – she has to want it and she does.. Her lines in her lyrical piece are so straight and flawless, it makes you breathe ever so slowly.. The absolute opposite to her flirty aggressiveness in her flamenco pieces. I have watched her listen to music and choreograph pieces for her figure skating routine..

But with so many kids dreaming of the limelight, I worry about her doing this professionally. Owning a restaurant, we’ve seen so many kids come into New York, searching and instead end up working double shifts for us, just to make rent.

However, we give her the outlets to grow and improve her talent. Lately, she’s been bugging me about trapeze and silk. Even found a venue with classes.. Good Lord, she plans to run away and join the circus.. O_o

Anyways, sorry to burn your ears with stories of my child..

HUGS

Pix

