Day 283/365 – The Butterfly Conservatory

YESSSS!! They’re baaaack! The Butterfly Conservatory is now open at the American Museum of Natural History. Read more about it and buy tickets here.

I had such a wonderful morning. Chatting with the ladies, asking questions about the butterflies I spotted. I think I overstayed my time but no one asked me to leave.. haha! Infact, one of the ladies said, “you are one of the first to spend time really taking in the exhibit, most people just walk through”. Hmmm.

Did you know (pulled these off the site FAQS)

1: What’s the difference between a butterfly and a moth?

There are many differences. Adult butterflies are active in the day, while most–but not all–moths are active at night.

2: Do butterflies sleep?

At night, or when the day is cloudy, adult butterflies rest by hanging upside down from leaves or twigs, where they are hidden among the foliage. We don’t really know whether or not they are sleeping.

3: Are butterflies endangered? Are any extinct?

Butterflies are extremely sensitive to environmental changes, and many species have become endangered or extinct because of habitat destruction.

BUT you must visit if you have the chance. Tickets are $25.00 but that includes museum entry also. You know what that means…. Butterflies AND Dinosaurs on the same day.. Win Win!!

HAHA! well if you do go, please tag me with photos, so I can check them out

HUGS
Pix

