Day 289/365 – Do Alligators live in the Sewer?

That got your attention, didn’t it?? Well I want you to read my blog post, so yeah, that’s a much better Title than “my visit the a waste removal plant”… LOLOL

If you pass by GreenPoint Avenue, Brooklyn chances are you’ve seen the huge egg shaped structure. They’re known as Digester Eggs and is the site of the Newtown Creek Wastewater Treatment Plant. I won’t bore you with details, so you can read more about it here.

I was very excited to learn that they offered a public tour and convinced my hubby that we should go.. It was very informative. The view from the top of the Digester Egg was breathtaking, you could see all the way across the river on a clear day. There was a group of Civil Engineer students from Germany on the tour with us and might I add there were a few environmentalists, making it quite an interesting tour.

So here’s to another off the beaten path tour by Pix. Visit if you get the opportunity.

HUGS

Pix

